Monday, 23 July 2012

Shahabaz Aman – Playback to play front

Showing off their multiple skills have become a trend in Malayalam film industry. Now this time Shahabaz Aman, renowned Ghazal singer and music composer, who had enthralled us with his melodies, such as ‘Ee puzhayum, sandhyakalum…’ from ‘Indian Rupee’ and ‘Mazha Kondu Maathram…’ from ‘Spirit’ would be seen on screen. He will make a special appearance in the film ‘Bhoomiyude Avakashikal’ that is being directed by T V Chandran. Earlier composer M Jayachandran had made an appearance in the promotional trailer of Kamal’s ‘Perumazhakalam’. Shahabaz Aman also had appeared in a singing scene with Mohanlal in the film 'Pakalnakshathrangal' for the song 'pakaruka nee..' penned by Ranjit, composed by Shahabaz and sung by Hariharan.

Shahabaz has for a long time, remained a favourite with the music lovers in the state, with several of his ghazals turning out to be extremely popular. However, he shot to greater public fame, when he composed the music for Ranjith films like ‘Indian Rupee’ and ‘Spirit’. Muisc has worked out for him, lets wait and watch whether acting skills will do the same magic or not.

Sunday, 22 July 2012

Ranjit-Shahabaz combination strikes again through 'Spirit'

Along with director Ranjith, Music director Shahabaz Aman needs to be equally appreciated. The music had a style of evergreen songs of Malayalam movies. His work for the movie was absolutely intelligent and was what the director and the script writer of the movie was expecting to express.

The story says that the songs were composed by an amateur by passionate musician (Meera-played by Kaniha). The style of the music was exactly truthful to this aspect. It was absolutely like an amateur and hobby music director could have done it, i.e, what was really told in the story.

If it was done by a professional music director, it would seem like it was done to be made a super hit and not with love to do it. But here it is in the same style as what Ranjith was trying to tell. A set of wonderful songs was what ‘Spirit’ gave the malayalees, thanks to Shahabaz Aman. Lyrics by Rafiq Ahamed and Mathrubhumi Music-Sathyam Audios are jointly releasing the music.

Track list:
1. "Aattumanal"  Mohanlal

2. "Ee Chillayil Ninnu"  K. J. Yesudas

3. "Maranamethunna Nerathu" Unni Menon

4. "Mazhakondu Mathram" Vijay Yesudas

5. "Mazhakondu Mathram" Gayathri